Asia – The Reunion Albums: 2007 – 2012

Asia, the multi-platinum selling English supergroup, formed in London in 1981, are celebrating its 40th anniversary by releasing a five CD boxset The Reunion Albums: 2007 – 2012 through BMG Records on 11th June 2021.

It can be pre-ordered here:

This five CD deluxe clamshell box set features the two CD live recording Fantasia, Live In Tokyo along with the three reunion studio albums Phoenix, Omega and XXX.

Asia were a roaring with their eponymous debut album, which was the biggest-selling album of 1982. The single Heat Of The Moment, proved to be a huge soft-rock anthem, reached the top 40 in over a dozen countries, peaking in the U.S. at #4 on the Billboard Hot 100 and #1 on the Billboard Mainstream Rock chart.

The four original members of Asia, who had been massively successful before– John Wetton (King Crimson, Roxy Music, UK, Family, lead vocal/bass), Steve Howe (Yes, guitars), Carl Palmer (Emerson, Lake & Palmer, drums) and Geoff Downes (The Buggles, Yes, keyboards), reunited to celebrate their 25th anniversary in 2006 and 2007 with a world tour.

A live album resulting from the tour, Fantasia, Live In Tokyo was released in 2007 as they returned to the studio together for the first time in a quarter of a century. The reunion would yield three well-recieved albums Phoenix (2008), Omega (2010) together with XXX (2012) as they celebrated their 30th anniversary.

Carl Palmer said of these later albums, “The chemistry and energy that comes out when the four of us are working together, is reflected in the new material.”  For his part, John Wetton marvelled at how far the band had come. “Each one of us is comfortable as a human being, and the sound reflects the collective maturity of these four people who are not only eager to explore but also relaxed enough to luxuriate in the strength of the material.”

This boxset features the original Asia line-up, reformed in 2006, and brings together, for the first time, all of Asia’s essential music into one concise collection.

Fantasia, Live In Tokyo, the two CD live show from their 2007 World Tour, features many of the tracks from their first two albums Asia (1982) and Alpha (1983) and includes Heat Of The Moment and Don’t Cry together with popular tracks from each of the band member’s musical history. The band also performed live, for the first time, an acoustic version of Ride Easy, a B-side from the debut single Heat Of The Moment.

The boxset collection is completed by the three reunion studio albums Phoenix, Omega and XXX. These represent some of Asia’s finest moments and allowed the band to explore fully their rock and progressive roots.

These albums are presented together in a superb collector’s edition boxset designed by Roger Dean, who produced all of the original albums’ artwork. The boxset cover image was previously unused and the Fantasia sleeve design has been updated by Roger.  

Asia, The Reunion Albums: 2007 – 2012 is available as a five CD boxset on 11th June 2021 through BMG Records.

Posted In

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.