Steve Howe – Homebrew 7

Guitarist Steve Howe has announced the release of Homebrew 7, the latest volume in this always interesting series. Remarkably, it is twenty-five years since the first Homebrew was released. The new album will be released on 30th July, and can be pre-ordered here:

The recordings on the volumes have, so far, consisted of pieces from Steve’s home archive of demos and tracks, originally recorded for one of his many solo or group projects with Yes, Asia, ABWH or GTR. However, Homebrew 7 differs slightly as none of the tracks have previously been released in any form and there are currently no plans for any to be rerecorded in the future. The selection of pieces on this release includes tracks from the late Seventies through to 2016 in Howe’s extensive range of eclectic playing styles.

Each of the twenty-one tracks is dated and accompanied by Howe’s background notes and details on instrumentation. Most of the tracks are Howe’s solo recordings although there are occasional contributions from sons Dylan Howe and Virgil Howe on drums with Phil Spalding providing bass guitar on Half Way. The booklet includes the lyrics for the four vocal tracks and is also illustrated by some of Howe’s delightfully atmospheric photography.

Steve explains about this collection; “Many are things I’ve enjoyed saving until the right moment and the Homebrew series allows this. Some tracks have matured with my nurturing but others have been recently rediscovered.”

Homebrew 7

Track Listing:

1. The Glider (2015) Time: 1.37

2. October (1998) 1.56

3. Half Way (1997, 2009 & 2015) 3.49

4. The Only One (2013) 1.26

5. In One Life (1982) 2.41

6. Outstanding Deal (1982) 3.21

7. Be Natural (2013) 1.47

8. Cold Winds (1983) 2.38

9. Deanscape (1982) 2.21

10. Tender Hooks (2015) 2.06

11. A Lady She Is (1982) 4.12

12. Two Sided (2013) 1.45

13. Strange Wayfarer (2016) 3.00

14. Devon Girl (1983) 2.42

15. Safe Haven (2015) 1.31

16. A Matter Of Fact 1986)

17. Touchstone (2015)1.58

18. From Another Day (1979) 1.47

19. Foregone Conclusion (2015) 1.58

20. Space Void (1978) 1.05

21. From The Get-Go (2015) 1.49

Total Running Time: 49.41

All titles written, arranged, engineered and produced by Steve Howe with additional drums by Dylan Howe and Virgil Howe.

Release date: 30th July, 2021

Pre-order Homebrew 7 here:

Homebrew 7 by Steve Howe: Music


Twitter – @SteveHoweOne

Facebook: @guitarrondo

Posted In

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.